ED2012 Awards ED2012 News

The Stage presents its Acting Excellence Awards for 2012

By | Published on Monday 27 August 2012


The Stage presented its Acting Excellence At The Edinburgh Fringe awards last night, with Nichola McAuliffe becoming the first performer to ever win the newspaper’s Best Actress Award at the Festival twice. The full list of winners is as follows…

Best Actor
Bill Paterson for And No More Shall We Part (Hampstead Theatre at the Traverse Theatre)

Best Actress
Nichola McAuliffe for Maurice’s Jubilee (Pleasance and PW Productions in association with Wild Thyme Productions at Pleasance Courtyard)

Best Ensemble
China Plate for Mess (China Plate presents Triggered@Warwick, commissioned by BAC, Parabola Arts Centre at the Traverse Theatre)

Best Solo Performer
Silvia Gallerano for The Shit/La Merda (Silvia Gallerano/Cristian Ceresoli at Summerhall)

Commenting on this year’s awards, Nick Awde, Stage critic and chair of the judging panel, said: “As the Edinburgh Festival Fringe grows each year, the range of shows and the opportunities it offers actors also increase, a trend marked by the impressive range of talent on offer. All the nominees on the shortlist had their strong advocates within the jury, so making the final choices became all the more challenging. From young groups such as Caroline Horton And Company to pillars of the industry such as Nichola McAuliffe and Bill Paterson, from major company productions to no-frills in-yer-face solo outings, we are recognising that Edinburgh truly celebrates talent right across the board. It is also satisfying to see that Edinburgh is now firmly on the world map as a trusted showcase for international work. We are thrilled therefore to see Silvia Gallerano win with a work that is uniquely Italian yet universal in its impact. Her win also confirms the venue Summerhall as a remarkable platform for fusing art and theatre”.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | |