ED2012 Awards ED2012 News

Marcel wins Amused Moose Laughter Award

By | Published on Monday 20 August 2012

Marcel Moose

One of the Festival’s key comedy awards has reached its conclusion for 2012, with the Fringe’s favourite Frenchman walking away with the top honour.

Comedy promoters Amused Moose present prizes each year to both brand new talent and more established acts who are yet to release their first DVD. The winner of the latter, the Amused Moose Laughter Awards, was chosen at The Bongo Club yestreday, an industry panel having selected ten finalists last week, with panel and audience alike voting for the overall winner.

The finalists this year were Alistair Barrie, Asher Treleaven, Carl Hutchinson, DeAnne Smith, Gordon Southern, Helen Arney, Jim Campbell, Laurence Clark and Yianni, but the overall winner was Monsieur Marcel Lucont. He gets £5000 towards the development of his comedy career, a commercial-standard DVD recording of his show and, of course, a shiny moose trophy, as pictured above.

Commenting on this year’s final, Stuart Snaith, MD of DVD company 2entertain, which supports Amused Moose’s Fringe awards, told ThreeWeeks: “The energy and excitement that host Rob Beckett created in the Bongo Club, and the phenomenal performances by all the finalists, who 2entertain will be talking to over the next couple of months about possible DVD deals and support, was palpable. And the enthusiasm of the committed industry panel, from as far apart as Edinburgh, Melbourne and San Francisco, is to be commended and demonstrates the international respect that the Amused Moose Awards hold, and we are delighted to support these extremely thorough talent searches”.