ED2012 Awards ED2012 News

Malcolm Hardee Awards presented

By | Published on Saturday 25 August 2012

Malcolm Hardee

The winners were announced last night for this year’s Malcolm Hardee Awards, one of our favourites amongst the many Fringe award programmes which, in their own words, set out to “represent the true anarchic spirit of the Edinburgh Fringe”.

The winner of the Malcolm Hardee Award For Comic Originality was The Rubberbandits, the anonymous “hip hip comedy duo from Limerick” who have been performing at the Gilded Balloon this year. The Malcolm Hardee Cunning Stunt Award went to Stuart Goldsmith, for turning the censorship of his show name in the official Fringe Programme (from ‘PRICK’ to PR!CK’) to his advantage, and then pledging to donate £1000 to charity, but to deduct £100 everytime a critic used a pun on the word ‘prick’ in their reviews.

And finally the prize for the Act Mosy Likely To Make A Million Quid went to Trevor Noah, the South African comedian who, award judges report “appeared on ‘The Tonight Show’ with Jay Leno in the US, whose Edinburgh Fringe show is presented by Eddie Izzard, and who has sold more DVDs in Africa than any other stand-up comedian. World domination could well be next”.

The Malcolm Hardee Awards, presented at a special awards show as part of the Laughing Horse Free Festival last night, are presented in memory of the late, great Hardee, often dubbed the “godfather to a generation of comic talent”, and are organised by John Fleming, who this year also contributed a weekly column to ThreeWeeks.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | |