ED2013 Awards ED2013 Comedy ED2013 News

Lubel and Ward share Amused Moose Laughter Award prize

By | Published on Tuesday 20 August 2013

Al Lubel

Two comedians have been declared winners at this year’s Amused Moose Laughter Awards, with Al Lubel (pictured) winning the main prize and Danny Ward being named People’s Champion.

The Laughter Awards are a newer sister event to the previously reported Laugh Off talent competition organised by Amused Moose. Whereas the Laugh Off contest champions brand new stand-up talent, the Laughter Awards are open to more established comedians who are yet to sign a DVD deal.

A judging panel selects a shortlist of ten acts based on their latest Fringe shows, who then all perform at a Festival final, which took place last Sunday. There both industry judges and the audience vote for their favourites. Lubel and Ward share a £5000 prize plus win the opportunity to produce a commercial-standard DVD release.

On winning Lubel told reporters: “I’m pleased the Moose was amused. My low self-esteem is going to have a bit of problem with this”. Meanwhile Ward added “I didn’t know there was a People’s Champion so this is a fantastic surprise. I don’t know how I’m going to get my Moose trophy home on the train!”

The final ten, who all performed at the final on Sunday, were as follows…

John-Luke Roberts
Al Lubel
Luke Toulson
Martin Mor
Danny Ward
Jonny & the Baptists
Mae Martin
Milo McCabe
George Ryegold
Nathaniel Metcalfe