ED2012 Awards ED2012 News

Edinburgh Comedy Awards nominations announced

By | Published on Wednesday 22 August 2012

Edinburgh Comedy Award

Ladies and gentlemen, the noms are out for the big Edinburgh Comedy Awards for 2012, and look, here they are, in two neat lists, one for the main prize, the other for newcomer…

Best Comedy Show:
Claudia O’Doherty – The Telescope (Underbelly Cowgate)
Doctor Brown – Befrdfgth (Underbelly Cowgate)
James Acaster – Prompt (Pleasance Courtyard)
Josie Long – Romance and Adventure (Pleasance Courtyard)
Pappy’s – Last Show Ever! (Pleasance Dome)
Tony Law – Maximum Nonsense (The Stand Comedy Club)

Daniel Simonsen – Champions (Pleasance Courtyard)
David Trent – Spontaneous Comedian (Pleasance Courtyard)
Discover Ben Target (Underbelly Cowgate)
Joe Lycett – Some Lycett Hot (Pleasance Courtyard)
Sam Fletcher – Good On Paper (PBH’s Free Fringe)

And look, here is Awards boss Nica Burns saying words: “The nominees sum up an extraordinarily inventive year for comedy at this year’s Fringe. The shows demonstrate all the comedic art forms – stand-up, mime, sketch and multi-media experimentation. The performers are all immensely charismatic and often thought-provoking whilst being extremely funny. Two excellent nomination lists”.

The overall winners will be announced on Saturday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |