ED2011 News

Amused Moose’s Fringe winners announced

By | Published on Tuesday 23 August 2011

Amused Moose Winners

The winner has been announced for the first ever Amused Moose Laughter Awards, sponsored by 2entertain. The winner was chosen from ten finalists who appeared at a special event at the Bongo Club on Sunday.

As previously reported, unlike the more established Amused Moose Laugh Off Awards, which are looking for brand new stand-up talent, the all new Laughter Awards celebrate more established comedians, though those who are yet to have their own DVD release. The hope is that, aside from the five grand prize, Soho Theatre showcase and free DVD recording, all of which sounds rather fine to start with, that finalists and winners will come to the attention of promoters, producers and commissioners who can help them launch the next stage of their comedy careers.

A judging panel made up of such people selected ten finalists from online footage and Edinburgh shows, the ten finalists being Tony Law, Milo McCabe, McNeil & Pamphilon, David Morgan, Luke Wright, Paul McCaffrey, Beta Males, Jeff Leach, Jessica Fostekew and DeAnne Smith. But on the big day it was Law who triumphed overall.

Commenting on the first ever Laughter Awards, and the final hosted by Andi Osho, Stuart Snaith, MD of 2entertain, told ThreeWeeks: “The energy and excitement that Andi created in the Bongo Club and the phenomenal performances by all the finalists, who 2entertain will now be talking to over the next couple of months about possible DVD deals and support, was palpable. And the enthusiasm of a committed industry panel from as far apart as Edinburgh and Melbourne, who have been viewing online the deluge of Amused Moose Laughter Awards entries from early July and then live once the Fringe started, is to be commended and demonstrates the international respect that the Amused Moose Awards hold, and we are delighted to support these extremely thorough talent searches”.

The winner of the aforementioned brand new talent Laugh Off Awards has also been announced by Team Amused Moose, with Pat Cahill taking that prize.