ED2011 News

Amused Moose Laughter Awards finalists announced

By | Published on Thursday 18 August 2011

Amused Moose Judges

The finalists for the first ever Amused Moose Laughter Awards, sponsored by 2entertain, have been announced after a judging panel viewed online work and Edinburgh shows from over 100 comedy acts. Unlike the more established Amused Moose Laugh Off Awards, which are looking for brand new stand-up talent, the all new Laughter Awards celebrate more established comedians, though those who are yet to have their own DVD release.

The hope is that, aside from the five grand prize, Soho Theatre showcase and free DVD recording, all of which sounds rather fine to start with, that finalists and winners will come to the attention of promoters, producers and commissioners who can help them launch the next stage of their comedy careers. The judging panel itself, pictured, includes some of those very people, like Neil Masters (Comedy Zoo), Susan Provan (Melbourne Comedy Festival), Andrew Roach (2entertain), Alex Rochford (Time Out Live), Gill Isles (Baby Cow) and Rupert Majendie and Suzanne Gilfillan (both BBC).

But enough of the background info, you want the list of finalists. And here it is…

Tony Law: Go Mr Tony Go!
Milo McCabe: Get Brown!
McNeil & Pamphilon: Which One Are You?
David Morgan: Triple Threat
Luke Wright’s Cynical Ballads
Paul McCaffrey: Saying Something Stupid
Beta Males: The Train Job
Jeff Leach: A Leach on Society
Jessica Fostekew: Luxury Tramp
DeAnne Smith: The Best DeAnne Smith DeAnne Smith Can Be

The finalists will appear at a semi-final event on Friday, 19 Aug, at the Bongo Club hosted by Mark Dolan, and with a guest appearance from The Boy With Tape On His Face. The final will follow on Sunday.